top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Boye

Week One - Breaking Ground

Updated: Jan 21, 2022


Greetings and salutations! My name is Sarah Boye and I'm a history major at the University of Central Florida. I'm hoping to graduate this fall if all goes to plan and then continue on to pursue an MA in either history or another related field. I may even be working toward a doctorate someday, though I don’t want to get ahead of myself. I'm back after a very long academic hiatus to get married and have my three daughters. They range in age from thirteen to eight years old and as they are now all school-aged, I have the time to go back to school myself. My family also consists of many animals. We’re somewhat of a zoo really. We currently have six resident cats, two foster kittens, a rabbit, a fish, and a small flock of chickens. In my spare time, I enjoy reading, watching historical dramas, and collecting Mid-Century Modern antiques, particularly Pyrex.

A small selection of my Pyrex collection.

I'm hoping to pursue a career in the field, though I'm not sure exactly where I want to be yet. I think working in a museum or an archive would suit me very well. I've been a genealogist for almost fifteen years now and though I haven't gotten paid to do it often, it's a passion of mine and feeds my penchant for historical research. My favorite fields of study range widely from medieval Europe clear through to 20th century America. Regardless of the area of study, my focus tends to be centered around social history and the stories of the underrepresented, particularly women. I hope someday to be able to incorporate these interests into my professional work.

When Dr. Snyder approached me to apply for the UCF History Lab Tutor Internship, I was not only immensely flattered but also extremely excited for the opportunity to work within the department. My previous experience will certainly come into play with this position as I have worked in positions that aimed to assist in academic writing. Additionally, I have worked with historic documents for many years and I hope that my skills in transcription and Latin translation will prove to be of use for my peers in assisting in helping them to develop their own historical analysis skills through their writing. I hope to use this internship opportunity to broaden my knowledge base of history and gain relevant experience that might someday assist in the formation of a career in the field. I plan to use this blog space not only to maintain a record of my activities within the internship on a weekly basis but also to present useful content which might aid other students of history in their writing.


92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 13

The tutoring aspect of the internship has slowed a bit, however I do hope there will be a slight rush of students requiring our assistance as we approach finals week. I’ve been trying to work ahead in

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page