top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Boye

Week 11

This week has been fairly quiet. I have yet to receive any requests for tutoring and I haven’t heard anything from Owen about needing my help from his end with students either. We spoke early in the week and decided to continue our content projects while we wait for students to request our assistance.

I did take some time to review the results from our tutoring exit survey which look promising thus far. From my cursory analysis of those results, it appears that we are meeting student expectations with regard to the length of time tutoring sessions take and the number of revision drafts we provide. No student indicated that they needed more time with us than they received and the only real issue to note is that the students said they would prefer in the future to request our help further ahead of their deadlines than they did. Owen and I are going to brainstorm ways to help address this issue and see if we can come up with a promising solution.

The course which I am providing tutoring support for, WOH 4272 Age of Atlantic Revolutions has a response paper due on April 3rd for Reinterpreting the French Revolution: A Global-Historical Perspective by Bailey Stone so I anticipate student engagement will pick up toward the end of next week if previous weeks are any indication. This class will have one additional response paper due toward the end of April as well as a facilitation paper, which has a variable due date depending on the individual student.

On my personal end of things, I have begun the research for my Orange County History Center HERstory Internship application paper. The prompt requests that we select a woman from history who embodies the History Center’s mission “to serve as the gateway for community engagement, education, and inspiration.” Additionally, we are asked, “to share an idea for an innovative experience, program, or activity you might design to help museum visitors learn about and be able to engage with her story.” It took me some time to identify which woman best fit this mission, but as soon as I did, an idea for components of an exhibit came to mind almost immediately. As soon as I wrap up some larger assignments for my current courses, I will be eagerly diving into the writing of this paper with the hopes to find a place as an intern at the History Center.

Additionally, after experiencing a wonderful Saturday at the Phi Alpha Theta conference at Stetson, I am now ready to begin working towards a goal of publishing my own research and presenting it at academic conferences. Just this morning I had a wonderful idea for some research that appears to not already be within the databases of academic journals online. I’m extremely excited to begin this particular research and even more so, because, after the PAT conference, I now have new peer contacts who said they would love to see my work represented.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 13

The tutoring aspect of the internship has slowed a bit, however I do hope there will be a slight rush of students requiring our assistance as we approach finals week. I’ve been trying to work ahead in

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page