top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Boye

Week 10

After a not-so-leisurely spring break (since I have three kids, nothing is leisurely anymore!), I’m back and ready to finish out this term strong! This week started off with a chat via email with Dr. Snyder and Owen to discuss our plans for the week. Owen and I both agreed that it would be best to finish up some of the content projects we still have left since we would likely have students to work with shortly as both courses we are working with have papers due soon.

I wrapped up another visual Chicago citation guide, this time for translations of primary sources. The finished guide has been emailed to Dr. Snyder for approval. I have one more requested visual citation guide from her on my to-do list, but it will have to wait until next week.

It turns out I was sensible in not overloading myself with content projects this week as I am already working with a student on their primary source facilitation paper which is due this weekend. This particular student is finding writing concisely to be a challenge. I am very glad that I created a guide for this very concern as it has been of use with the students I have worked with thus far. I have offered the students I’ve worked with the option of chatting via Zoom with me but their preference has consistently been to chat via email and bounce drafts of their papers back and forth. That works well for me as my kids are home from school this week on their spring break. In the exit survey I created, I did ask a few questions to gauge which format they preferred as that data might be useful for the tutoring program later on.

I am very excited to attend my first academic conference this coming weekend at Stetson University for the Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society! I thought about presenting, but I’m honestly a bit nervous since I don’t know what to expect from a conference. Sitting in on this conference will hopefully boost my confidence so that next term I can attempt to present some of my research to other academics. After reading through the program for the conference I’ve selected the presentations that I would like to attend. I’m most interested in one presented by a Florida Gulf Coast University graduate student titled “Ritual, Agency, and Space: Childbirth in Seventeenth-Century England” which combines my interest in women’s history with my interest in English history. I'm sure I'll have a lot to say about the conference in next week's blog post!

I have also started compiling my application for the Orange County Regional History Center’s HERstory Internship which is due at the end of April. I’m considering pursuing a career in the field of public history so this internship would be an excellent opportunity for me to experience what a career in the museum field might be like. I would also be able to make some potentially useful networking connections that may serve me well in the future.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 13

The tutoring aspect of the internship has slowed a bit, however I do hope there will be a slight rush of students requiring our assistance as we approach finals week. I’ve been trying to work ahead in

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page