top of page
Writer's pictureSarah Boye

Greenwood Cemetery Internship Part Deux: Week 11

This week started early for me. Last Friday, I went out to Greenwood and walked the path of the proposed "core" walking tour to time how long it takes to physically walk as well as how many steps the route is. The 24 stops I have planned currently take about 20 minutes from point to point, without stopping, and are about 2,000 steps (or 1 mile) in distance. I think that's just about where it needs to be since the goal of the tour was a 60-minute total walk. After tracing my route, I met with my intern to show him around and have him take photos of his research subjects' gravesites.

In addition, I was finally able to visit the Wells'Built Museum of African American History just a few minutes from Greenwood Cemetery down South Street. Not only is the museum a wonderful resource for research for the tour itself, but it will also be a fantastic local partner. I discussed the possibility of collaboration with the museum educator on-site during my visit and she was very excited to contribute to the tour as well as the possibility of cross-promotion of the museum and the Greenwood tour as cultural heritage sites in Orlando. I hope to speak to the museum's founder, Senator Geraldine Thompson, soon about the possibilities (and her extensive research!).

This morning, I did a quick drive-through of Greenwood to see if any visitors left any signs of interaction since Halloween is approaching. I didn't see any new "offerings" like I have in previous weeks, but I did spot this sweet autumnal display at a Veteran's gravesite that I wanted to share.

Finally, today was the long-awaited grant kickoff meeting with myself, my supervisor, consulting professors from UCF, and our community partner from the Center for Independent Living. I was able to share the proposed digital walking tour route as well as some information regarding the tour topics. We're well underway now to firm up plans and accomplish the goals of the grant! I'm very pleased to see everything coming together!

Comments


bottom of page